An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

Official measures against COVID-19 in Estonia

The fastest source of information on the state of emergency in Estonia is on the Government website

In view of the need to stop the spread of the coronavirus in Estonia and prevent mass contagion, the head of emergency situation has ordered a 14-day period of isolation for all people who are returning from areas with an extensive spread of the virus, such as China, South Korea, Singapore, Iran, Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Belgium, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Egypt.

  • All tourists who were planning to come to Estonia and have been in a risk area or have had close contact with infected individuals must postpone their trips to Estonia. Based on the continuously updated list of risk areas, foreign citizens, for whom travel to Estonia is essential, must remain in isolation for 14 days if they arrive from a risk area or have symptoms.

Estonian citizens who are having trouble returning home are advised to contact the consular assistance emergency helpline: +372 53 01 9999 (24 h).

See more: