Estonia gains a seat at the UN Security Council

The vote took place on 7 June at the United Nations (UN) headquarters in New York City. All 193 UN member states were in present to cast their votes. Estonia was elected a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for 2020-2021 with 132 votes.

The non-permanent seats on the Security Council are distributed on a regional basis. Estonia belongs to the Eastern European group and its main regional competitor for the seat was Romania.

In the first voting round, Estonia received 111 votes and Romania 78 – both countries short of a majority of two thirds, 129 votes, needed to get elected. In the second voting round, 132 countries voted for granting Estonia a non-permanent seat, while Romania was supported by 58 countries.

Estonia is ready and eager to contribute to global security and peace at the UN Security Council.