Romanian Presidency of the Council of the European Union

From 1 January to 30 June 2019, Romania was holding the six-month rotating Presidency of the European Union. This was the first mandate for Romania. Romania is in close coordination with the Trio EU Presidencies of Finland (July-December 2019) and Croatia (January-June 2020).

On 24 January Romania celebrated Ziua Unirii which may also be known as ‘Little Union Day’. It celebrates the Union of the Romanian Principalities in 1859. The date became a public holiday in 2015. In Bucharest and in almost all major cities, there were military ceremonies, flower wreaths, and people were uniting in the traditional circle dance named “Hora of Unity”.