An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information


Important agreements signed by Estonia and Romania

  • Intergovernmental Agreement for the Organising of International Highway Traffic (came into force 27.12.1993);
  • Friendship and Co-operation Agreement (came into force 22.05.1994);
  • Agreement on the Readmission of Persons (came into force 15.09.2005);
  • Agreement on the Avoidance of Double Taxation with Income Tax and Capital Tax and the Evasion of Taxes (came into force 29.11.2005);
  • Agreement on Abolition of Visa Requirement (came into force 24.04.2004).
  • Agreement on Mutual Understanding in the Field of Military Co-operation (came into force 13.01.2005).
  • Agreement on the Mutual Protection of Classified Information (came into force 01.09.2007)